Monday, November 07, 2005

About.

Found this at Nicole's, after checking out her ring. Thought it was fun! No tag, but if you'd like to join in, please do!

Accent: Generic American (northeast? But definitely not boston), with a little something odd thrown in – every now and again, someone picks up on the South African in me
Bra size: Well, I used to be a B, until I went to Gap Body and found out I’m a miserly A. Ha!
Chore I hate: Laundry. So M does it for me!
Dad's name: Anthony, but pronounced Antony. What we’ll name a son if we have one.
Essential make-up: NONE! I don’t buy into the ‘you must wear make-up to be beautiful’ mantra.
Favorite perfume: Don’t wear any. But I love Obsession and Drakar on a guy. (That kinda dates me, doesn’t it!)
Gold or Silver: Gold. Silver just doesn’t look right on me.
Hometown: Born in Pretoria, South Africa. Formative years in a chi-chi town west of Boston. ;-p
Interesting fact: I have hiccupped every day for the past sixteen years. Not kidding. Only one-three hiccups at a time, a few times a day.
Job title: Scientist I. How boring!
Kids: None :-( But I have names! Antony George, for a boy, or Tabitha Rose for a girl.
Living arrangements: Nice little three bedroom garrison colonial. We were lucky enough to find new construction in our price range! (Okay, a little outside, but we manage).
Mom's Birthplace: South Africa.
Number of apples eaten in last week: None. Number of apples eaten in entire life? About 0.5. I can’t stand fruits. Any of them. And I don’t eat many vegetables either!
Overnight hospital stays: 1 – after a car accident. I skidded into oncoming traffic in my three-month-old Miata. Totalled my car and one other, $5K damage to a third. Hospitalized for three days (which I don’t remember at all) with a major concussion, stitches next to my eye from the window, and a broken collar bone. If it weren’t for my seat belt and air bag, I wouldn’t be here.
Phobia: Nothing major. Although flying insects make me squeamish. And eating disgusting things, aka Fe@r F@ctor
Question you ask yourself a lot: Do they know that I have them all fooled?
Religious affiliation: None. Agnostic. I believe in a higher power, but not as circumscribed by official religions.
Siblings: One younger sister. Of whom I am deathly jealous at the moment.
Time I wake up: Varies – 5:20 on mornings when I have hockey, 6:00 if I’m going to the gym, or a leisurely 7:30 just to go to work. And around 10 on the weekends.
Unnatural hair color: Mostly blonde.
Vegetable I refuse to eat: There are a lot of veggies I don’t like. Lettuce probably one of the worse ones. I absolutely WILL NOT eat a banana though. Grosss. Epitomizes everything I don’t like about fruits and veggies!
Worst habit: Staying up WAY too late at night.
X-rays: Not too many. Leg, when my dad broke it when I was three (inadvertently! And I got a cool new pair of shoes out of it). Collar bone from aforementioned accident. I assume. HSG – does that count? Various teeth. Oh, and I had my lungs x-rayed once to check for TB ‘cause I get a positive on the stupid skin test every time.
Yummy food I make: Mmmmm…. Cake…..
Zodiac sign: Aquarius

11 comments:

kxpkaeak said...

A hiccupping, hockey playing, scientist of South African descent? Now, that's hardly boring. I also remember from an earlier post that you sew. Any other special talents?

pixi said...

Sorry, I just typed the word verification letters as my name. That first one was me. It's early!

pixi

Molly said...

OK, I'm intrigued. How do bananas signify, to you, everything that's wrong with fruit?

What is the essential banana-ness that makes it essentially fruity?

Nico said...

It's really all about the texture. Mushy. And yet not. bleauch!

I don't know where it comes from, but that's my big issue with fruits - the texture. Love the flavors, will drink fruit juices all day long, but the actual thing? No thanks!

(I did once eat a grape, when forced to by my parents, after a 45 minute tantrum. In seventh grade. It was ~ok~, but I would never choose to eat one.)

pixi said...

Actually, I have a fruit-texture-but-not-the-flavor issue, myself. I can eat fruit in its raw, unadulterated form. Or pureed. But nothing in between. No chunks, no floating bits, nothing smooshed and cooked - blech. Is it the pectin in fruit that makes it extra jiggly and jelly-like? I don't know, but I agree with you, Nico, it's not good.

Nicole said...

I forgot I even did this one! Yeah!

Thanks for the nice comments on my blog by the way - I really appreciate hearing from new IF people.

Now - mushrooms - I am allergic to them now, but when I was little I made my parents pay be $.25 for every piece I ate. I think I have about $7 off the deal! (Haven't eaten them since)

Sarah said...

Accent: Southern United States
Bra size: D (used to be a B...I want to go back there)
Chore I hate: Laundry.
Dad's name: Orvil (like the popcorn dude)
Essential make-up: foundation
Favorite perfume: too many to name. I'm not a one-scent kind of gal. B&BW, or Mary Kay's Pure Bliss (they don't make it anymore)
Gold or Silver: Silver
Hometown: Patterson
Job title: Ministry Assistant for a religious organization
Kids: None (I do have dogs, a cat, and turtles)
Living arrangements: 3 bedroom/2 bath
Mom's Birthplace: GA
Number of apples eaten in last week: None.
Overnight hospital stays: 0 Phobia: Nothing major. snakes, maybe.
Question you ask yourself a lot: What was I thinking?
Religious affiliation: Christian -Baptist.
Siblings: 1 sister, 1 brother, 2 SILs, 2 BILs
Time I wake up: 6:10-6:30
Unnatural hair color: Mostly blonde.
Vegetable I refuse to eat: brussel sprouts or greens (mustard, turnip,etc)
Worst habit: biting fingernails when stressed (gross, I know!)
X-rays: arm, once, in 5th grade
Yummy food I make: I made a really good cheesecake or pumpkin pie.
Zodiac sign: Aries

Kim said...

My best friend lives in Pretoria. We're thinking about living there for a while in a few years.


Accent: Australian
Bra size: C
Chore I hate: Any form of floor cleaning. It never looks clean enough to me.
Dad's name: Peter
Essential make-up: spf 15+ lip gloss.
Favorite perfume: CK Truth
Gold or Silver: White gold or silver.
Hometown: Melbourne, Australia.
Interesting fact: It's bloody hot in Melbourne today.
Job title: Managing Director
Kids: Hahahahahahah!
Living arrangements: 3 bedroom unit with two cats - Isidor & Annabella.
Mom's Birthplace: Melbourne.
Number of apples eaten in last week: None. We eat pears, peaches, bananas, kiwi fruit, mango, but not so many apples.
Overnight hospital stays: About three weeks worth when I was six months old. I had meningitus. Nothing since then.
Phobia: Spiders, snakes, sharks, heights, the usual. I'm a pussy.
Question you ask yourself a lot: Should we stop trying? is the usual, this week it's - Am I pregnant?
Religious affiliation: Wiccan.
Siblings: A really annoying younger sister.
Time I wake up: 7am. The cats know the alarm goes off at 7:10am.
Unnatural hair color: Almost black brown.
Vegetable I refuse to eat: Cucumber.
Worst habit: Obsessing over not being pregnant.
X-rays: Teeth, jaw (dislocated), hips & knees (mine are fucked).
Yummy food I make: Baked yogurt chicken with mint salad.
Zodiac sign: Pieces

Nicole said...

What shots I am doing -

Del Estrogen every three days for 10 days and then a dildo cam. Then I add in a little crazy juice (aka PIO) and do that for 10 days straight (my poor husband!) while continuing with the DE every three days. Then I get the fun torture of an endo biopsy. I think they pulled one over on me - I'll blog about that later!

elle said...

Thanks, Nico, this was great! Yeah, and what's so boring about being a scientist? I love it!

Suz said...

What is it about Miatas? I spun out and into oncoming traffic a scant month after getting mine. I didn't drive on the highway for almost a year after that!