Friday, February 18, 2011


I've been MIA the past few months - mostly because there's not a whole lot going on TTC-wise. My cycles are pretty regular, so we're trying each month - but no luck yet. I don't really see much point right now in posting my pre-O angst each month, followed by post-O angst (although I only have one pg test left so I've just been waiting for the crimson bitch each month and have actually found that a much more zen way to live, for me, than early testing), followed by "Shit! my period is here" angst. So that's where we're at. I'm supremely thankful for me two boys and feel so lucky to have them. I will feel even more lucky if we are able to have another, but if not, my life is pretty damn good as is so I have nothing to complain about. So that's that!

I do have plans to post about a few articles that have been published suggesting taking acetyl-L-carnitine to help restore cycles in women with HA... but that's probably going to have to wait until we finally move into our new house. (Hoping for April, expecting May/June... REALLY hoping it's not any longer than that, considering we started building in November 2009!!)

ABCs of me

Saw this on a few friend's blogs (Josey, and Amanda)enjoyed reading about them, thought it looked like fun, and gosh, actually have a few minutes to do it!

(A) Age: 37 (the same age as my mom when we moved to the US. Yikes!)
(B) Bed Size: Super single. M's bed from when he was a kid, it's the old bladder style waterbed. Love it. But it's NOT big enough for the two of us plus occasional night-time visitors. New bed is on deck for the new house.
(C) Chore You Hate: Nothing in particular. I'm not a real fan of any cleaning but it has to get done so I do it.
(D) Dogs: Don't mind other people's, but NO interest in one of my own. I have a feeling I may be outvoted in a few years though.
(E) Essential Start Your Day Item: Nothing in particular. Not a coffee drinker, usually eat breakfast pretty early but I can manage without if I have to.
(F) Favorite Color: Greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen!
(G) Gold or Silver? Gold. I think it looks better with my skin tones. Not that I wear much of it, at the moment just my wedding/engagement rings.
(H) Height: 5'5". Used to be 5'6", but every time I get measured at the doc they take away half an inch. I have got to stop letting them do that!
(I) Instruments You Play: Used to play flute. Still can but it just doesn't get out of it's box very often. Maybe when I'm too old to play hockey.
(J) Job Title: Study manager
(K) Kids: Boys 2.5 and 4.5.
(L) Live: Near Boston
(M) Mom's Name: Helen. Really, nothing more interesting for M??? How about Movies? Memories? Ohh, I like that one. I'm going with that instead. A favorite memory - spending NYE with my cousins Sam and Lisa in SA years and years ago. We got all decked out and had a lovely dinner on their back porch overlooking the ocean, with a great chocolate mousse dessert (Flakeys on top, yum!). Then went to a club, only to find out you had to pre-book. So went to a bar down the street instead. It was just one of those nights where we laughed the entire time.
(N) Nicknames: Nic, Snifter (ONLY my sister calls me that), Chief
(O) Overnight Hospital Stays? A few nights that I do not remember after I totalled my car in '95. Also post-kids.
(P) Pet Peeves: Bad drivers and language laziness, like "your" instead of "you're". Etc.
(Q) Quote from a Movie: "Have fun storming the castle"
(R) Right or Left Handed? Right
(S) Siblings: One amazing younger sister.
(T) Time You Wake Up? Desired - 9am. Actual - usually sometime between 6-7, unless it's hockey Tuesday in which case it's 5:30. (Ugh. But I do love my hockey).
(U) Underwear: Bikinis.
(V) Vegetable You Dislike: Beans. I only eat them in minestrone when they're pureed, and unfortunately I've passed the dislike of beans on to my sons.
(W) What Makes You Run Late: Trying to get out of the house with kids!!
(X) X-Rays You've Had Done: Lungs (I get positives on TB tests b/c of the smallpox vaccine I had in SA), collarbone (broke it in my accident), leg when I broke it at three. Think that's it.
(Y) Yummy Food You Make: asparagus pasta!
(Z) Zoo, Favorite Animal: Loved the ... oh god, can't think of the stupid animal's name...oh yeah, peacock! that we saw at the Southwick zoo last summer. Five foot tailspan - amazing!